Our Leadership

DIL Canada operates under the auspices of a Canada-based Board of Directors. DIL Canada was granted tax-exempt status by the CRA on June 1, 2010 – registration number 84448 0467 RR0001. DIL Canada’s programs are implemented in collaboration with DIL Pakistan which was registered in July 2000 in Pakistan under the Societies Registration Act 1860. All members of the Board of Directors are volunteers and serve without compensation.


Dr. Nafis Sadik

Dr. Nafis Sadik is currently Special Adviser to the UN Secretary General, with additional responsibilities as Special Envoy for HIV/AIDS in Asia, and former head of the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA). She was first appointed as Special Envoy for HIV/AIDS in Asia by former Secretary-General Kofi Annan in 2002, and was renewed of the appointment by the current Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon in 2007.

  • DIL Canada Board of Directors

    The DIL Board of Directors develops strategic goals and program initiatives; reviews and approves annual plans and budgets; assists in expanding outreach, visibility and donor support; and monitors the progress of the organization.

     DIL Canada Board of Directors

    • Talat Chaudhry – Founder & Chairperson
    • Shahid Minto – President
    • Abdul Baseer Hai – Treasurer
    • Sharry Rehman – Secretary
    • Aamir Azam
    • Arif Raza
    • Javed Somra
    • Lubna Pathan
    • Shafiq Rajwany
    • Shamim Sheikh
  • Advisory Board
    • Sara Abbasi
    • Amjad Ali Khan
    • Anja Manuel
    • Henna Inam
    • Haris Khan
    • Ikram U. Khan, M.D.
    • Jane Wales
    • Kashif Zafar
    • Kavita Ramdas
    • Dr Maleeha Lodhi
    • Nasser A. Ahmad
  • DIL USA Board of Directors
    • Muhammad Shahzad, Chairperson
    • Fiza Shah, Founder and CEO
    • Marilyn Wyatt
    • Mehar Patel
    • Muhammad Shahzad
    • Najmi Sarwar
    • Shaila Zamir
    • Tasnim Shaheryar
    • Wajid Mirza
    • Ehsan Zaffar